Belize Day 8: I’m in Culture Shock

Waking up knowing that today was the day I would be leaving this country was a hard pill to swallow. Walking to breakfast there was silence where there’s normally laughter. I’m trying to enjoy the last day here but it’s not fully possible when we know that in the next few hours we will be home again. I’m in culture shock.

I realized that even with the blogs I have written no one will truly understand what my group is going through. The pain of leaving these children that we love in the conditions they’re in when we just want to love on them every single day is so hard. I can’t help but look out the window as much as I can before we leave. Falling in love with this country’s food, people, and just their culture in general will be hard to give up in the next year. I’m in culture shock.

Is it bad that I wouldn’t mind staying here forever when my family is back at home waiting for me to arrive. Even though there would be danger everywhere I turn. I think the hardest part about all of this is that I don’t know if I will come back next year. I don’t know what God’s plan for me will be. Im in culture shock. 

Until next time Belize.

~Yesterday’s Blog~

Leave a Reply

